Plan A.

“Have you thought this through?”, the little voice at the back of my head says in a holier-than-thou tone.

“Of course I have’nt”, I want to shout back but then I don’t. I don’t want to be one of the crazy people who talk to  themselves. This is one of the essential elements of my plan- the plan A that is, to not be crazy.

a. Be happy.

b. Eat well.

c. Learn. Earn. Spend.

d. Travel.

e. Don’t be crazy. Be goofy but not crazy.

f. Write a book.

g. Be famous

h. Happy endings.

That was the plan, in a nutshell. And then other to-dos started popping in. Remember to pay rent. Turn off the lights and make sure the tap has not been left open. Do not come off as antisocial. Save your leaves. Book your tickets after searching for a discount coupon. Complete the assignments before going home. Do not loose your cool. Do not loose touch with writing. Do not get married. Do not ask why everybody is getting married. Find out what you want to do with your life. Discover yourself. Get out of here. Do not be mediocre.

Movies make it look so easy, to drop everything and set out on a soul-searching journey. Go places where answers turn up in a platter. And I use all my strength to make sure that everything I write does not end up with phrases like “continuous improvement” and “broader outlook”. And yet they do, somehow managing to sound like a long overdue diary entry.

It is settled then, I am not discovering myself anytime soon. And well, plan A is not working. So I am moving on to Plan B. Yes, dear little voice at the back of my head, I have not thought this through. But plan B will be essentially two things.

A. Not Plan A
B. Nothing that requires a Plan C.

Here’s looking at you, B!

3 comments on “Plan A.

Leave a Reply

